Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Windows 7: can't install new progs (including FRST) and can't

• Please log in to reply

ally1205

ally1205

• PipPip
  • 12 posts

Happy Christmas Day! At least, I hope yours has been better than mine... I'm running Windows 7 and have encountered a major problem. I'm assuming it's a virus but I am not an expert. Can anyone help?

The symptoms are as follows:

1) I can't install any new programs (including Geeks to Go's prescribed 'FRST' scan) When I try to run any new new program associated with scanning, antivirus, or other fix-it tools, the 'User Account Control' popup asks me if I want the program to make changes to my computer. When I click the 'yes' button, the screen goes semi-dark and I have to press ctrl-alt-del to cancel. The 'User Account Control' popup-box has a link, bottom-right, that offers to let me "change when these notifications appear", but clicking on the link has no effect.

2) I can't uninstall any programs either. Control Panel tells me to "wait until the current program is finished uninstalling or being changed" (which it never does).

3) I cannot start Windows in any of the Safe modes; when I try that, it hangs on the 'Welcome' screen.

4) I often cannot shut down or restart the computer normally; it hangs - or takes ages lingering on the 'shutting down' screen, and I sometimes have to hold the power button down to shut everything down, rather than waiting indefinitely.