Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Upgrading components question.

• Please log in to reply

Akanezora

Akanezora

• Pip
  • 2 posts

Hello, I was looking to upgrade some components on an assembled computer that I bought about a year ago mainly for casual gaming.
The current specs are as follows:

CPU: AMD A10-6700 (4 CPUs ~ 3.7GHZ)
GPU: AMD Radeon HD 8670D
RAM: 8.00GB
MOBO: K30BF_M32BF_A_F_K31BF (FM2+ )
CASE: ASUS M32BF

Any other relivant specs, feel free to ask.

I'm basically a novice when it comes to computers but figured an upgrade was definitely needed.
GPU seems like the natural place to start but I recently learned that certain GPUs will only work with certain MOBOs.

What would be the best GPU to upgrade to with my given specs?

---

The supposed minimum system requirements for the game that I mostly play:

CPU: Intel CoreDuo E6 series OR Athlon64 X2 6400+
RAM: 2 GB
GPU: GeForce9600GT 512 MB OR AMD Radeon HD 4830 512 MB
DRIVE: 6 GB of free space

I'm playing on all low settings and 800x600 resolution to barely hit 60 fps at times.

I apologize for being a novice and thank you in advance!

Advertisements

iammykyl

iammykyl

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 7,659 posts

:welcome: Akanezora.

A fair computer but, as with nearly all HP/Dell/Asus rigs, they are let down, for upgrading, by a weak PSU.

Yours will have come with a 300/350 Watt one, probable with no PCI-E cable to give extra power to a GPU.