Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Developing a new website in the hotel industry.

hotels holidays resorts star rating

• Please log in to reply

Australian60

Australian60

• Pip
  • 1 posts

Hello, I am new to this so hope that this post meets all the criteria.

I am an Australian guy who travels extensively throughout the world, and am constantly annoyed at the rating system that so many hotels and resorts use that have no relationship to the truth or what you are paying for.

Way back, there was a rating system (Forbes I think) that set out what you should expect for what you pay..ie....a 1 star rated hotel required certain faciclities and standards, right up to a 5 star rating.

Over the years, this has become a joke, with the situation now that a star rating means nothing....a hotel or resort can call a backyard toilet a 5 star accommodation with no comeback as often, clients book and pay for it, well in advance.

How many times have you arrived at paid for accommodation, only to be given the worst room they have, because they have your money, and rude staff just laugh at you?

I have spoken at length to industry representatives about trying to set up a code of ethics linked to a new style of rating system that will indicate to prospective clients, just what is offered and actually delivered.

There is an urgent need for a comprehensive new system that sets standards that are worldwide and doesnt allow low grade 'boutique', 'historic', 'chic', 'olde worlde' and similar comments and excuses for misleading the client.