Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Free Antivirus and Antispyware Software


  • Please log in to reply

#196
m8dman

m8dman

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 141 posts
Guess I will use MSE. Might add Super Anti Spyware for a little extra protection.
  • 0

Advertisements


#197
m8dman

m8dman

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 141 posts
So far I've downloaded MSE MBA and Super Anti Spyware.


Everything looks good, havent noticed any compatibility problems.
  • 0

#198
sari

sari

    GeekU Admin

  • Administrator
  • 20,960 posts
  • MVP
Those should all run fine together - that's a good combination.
  • 0

#199
m8dman

m8dman

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 141 posts
Can AntiVirus software detect Bots? Just wondering.

Edited by m8dman, 05 April 2011 - 10:11 AM.

  • 0

#200
BanMidou

BanMidou

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts
Hi


I notice Avast has a behaviour blocker so does it hold an edge over avira?

I have avira MBAM only I update windwos and java whenever new updates show up


Have Vista SP2 Bus O/S

and firewall is windows





why is Zone alarm not included Not as good as before i guess will comodo and avira not like each other? :D
  • 0

#201
m8dman

m8dman

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 141 posts

Hi


I notice Avast has a behaviour blocker so does it hold an edge over avira?

I have avira MBAM only I update windwos and java whenever new updates show up


Have Vista SP2 Bus O/S

and firewall is windows





why is Zone alarm not included Not as good as before i guess will comodo and avira not like each other? :D

MSE's behaviour monitor is pretty good. If I had to pick between Avast and MSE I would go with MSE.


MSE is a lot easier to use and it doesn't use that much Memory.

Edited by m8dman, 17 April 2011 - 05:12 AM.

  • 0

#202
likata

likata

    New Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Great information! Last time I was tracked by the Spy software last time. I didn't how to get rid of it. And I formated my computer at last!! What a pity!

Edited by SpySentinel, 27 April 2011 - 08:02 AM.
Removed Link

  • 0

#203
MizzLi

MizzLi

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts
Hi,

I was wondering if it is necessary to have all the following programs installed at once. On my laptop I have installed:
avast
spybot - search and destroy
malwarebytes
Spyware Guard
Spyware Blaster

I was told all I need is Avast and it will be enough so I don't need all the other programs installed on it.

Is this the case?
  • 0

#204
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
The following is my setup:
  • Avast
  • Malwarebytes
  • SuperAntiSpyware
  • Windows Firewall

You have 3 different spyware programs. Get rid of two or replace all three with SuperAntiSpyware.
:)
  • 0

#205
sari

sari

    GeekU Admin

  • Administrator
  • 20,960 posts
  • MVP
Hi, MizzLi. :)

Avast by itself only gives you antivirus protection. It's a good program, but I would recommend having more than that in place. If you have the free version of Malwarebytes, you have a good on-demand scanner that you can run periodically to make sure your PC is clean, but it doesn't offer real-time protection. If you Teatimer enabled on Spybot, then it offers real-time protection against unintended changes. Spywareguard and Spywareblaster are both good programs that will help protect your computer; they act differently than an antivirus, as they protect more against malicious changes to your browser and guard against specific or behavioral changes associated with spyware, while antivirus programs monitor files that are being downloaded or opened and look for malicious code being executed. We always recommend a layered approach to protection.

Sari
  • 0

Advertisements


#206
MizzLi

MizzLi

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts

The following is my setup:

  • Avast
  • Malwarebytes
  • SuperAntiSpyware
  • Windows Firewall

You have 3 different spyware programs. Get rid of two or replace all three with SuperAntiSpyware.
:unsure:


Hi rshaffer and sari,

Thanks for your replies. Oops... that sounds a bit ridiculous having three spyware programs, I'm new to this sort of thing!

I love my Avast since it automatically updates and scans my pc without me having to initiate it, but my spybot and malwarebytes require manual updates and setting it to scan is a pain since I forget alot! I prefer ones that automatically updates and scans.

Which ones would you recommend me keeping? I think keeping them all are slowing my pc down.

Thanks again for your replies! :)
  • 0

#207
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
I think possibly going with the paid version of Malware bytes would be a great investment in the protection of your system.
Also check this as Sari has suggested.

If you Teatimer enabled on Spybot, then it offers real-time protection against unintended changes


  • 0

#208
Rediah

Rediah

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 259 posts
Hello All:

Out of all that is mentioned I would opt for:

  • 0

#209
Dakeyras

Dakeyras

    Anti-Malware Mammoth

  • Expert
  • 9,613 posts

Is there any one who can tell me if the Free Antivirus Software can detect and remove the commercial spy software?
Thx in advance

It would actually depend on the type of monitoring software, IE is it malicious in nature and or merely a purposelessly installed surveillance(parental) type for example.

If you think you machine is infected click on the below and follow the advice:-

Malware and Spyware Cleaning Guide
  • 0

#210
todo

todo

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 166 posts
i'm wondering if i could use

MSE with avira or avast for extra protection


also i wonder if avast Got HIPS in it

if not

:/ what is a good HIPS
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP