Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

frow

• Please log in to reply

newbie09

newbie09

• Pip
  • 7 posts
Okay after a good week of research I have finally put together my system. If you see any issues please let me know. I am new to building and will take any suggestions. I have not choosen a case or power supply yet so please also suggest.

CPU-AMD 64 X2 4400+ Toledo ($625.00)
Motherboard- MSI K8n NEO 4 Platinum ($132.00)
Hard Drive-Maxtor Diamond Max 10 300gb (162.00)
Might add a Raptor ($175.00)
Graphics Card-ATI Radeon X800XL($299.99)
Memory-OCZ Platinum ($174.00)

About $1500 total so far after case and cooling etc I should be close to my budget of $2000.

So there it is. A couple of notes. I am not going SLI at this time so please don't recommend it. Also I do plan to do some slight overclocking if I can do it safely so please keep that in mind when suggesting. Lastly, I am not dead set on the video card. The reviews that I saw stated that it was the best card for the money right now. Thanks a lot everyone for you help and suggestions.

Advertisements

woody1977

woody1977

• PipPipPip
  • 146 posts
I really dont know that much, but I would strongly advise against the overclocking, you will have one of the fastest processors on the market, and will soon burn it out, if you do so. Paying all that money, and the processor might not even last 2 years.

Not sure about whether they will all work together fine, I will let one of the experts come in and tell you that.

cheers woody.

warriorscot

warriorscot

Member 5k

• Retired Staff