Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Help setting up wireless network

• Please log in to reply

ashleyw83

ashleyw83

• Pip
  • 6 posts
I am totally new to this, and I am trying to set up a wireless network, but i've ran into a couple problems that I'm hoping people will help me fix.

I'm running Windows XP & have a Verizon DSL connection, using a Westell Versalink modem. I am attempting to install a Linksys Wireless-G Broadband Router.

Basically, my problem is that when I connect the router, I can't connect to the internet. All the lights that should be green on the router are (Power, WLAN & Ethernet 1 all solid green).

I've been researching, and I think that there is a problem with my computer's ISP address, and its DHCP settings. I set it to automatically search for the DHCP, but my ISP settings are still as follows:

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
© Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Ashley>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : ashleycomp
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : myhome.westell.com
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel® PRO/100 VM Network Connecti
on
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-02-A5-FA-E7-C5
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0