Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

what to buy ?

• Please log in to reply

dragonfire

dragonfire

• PipPip
  • 28 posts
as a newbie i am needing some info on what to buy as a pc system i would like something that has digital, p4 or better 3.8 mhz or bigger 250 hdd, 1gb ram heaps of graphics ms office xp home lcd monitor i have $3000 to spend less if possible
can someone please write down some specs so i know what to say to pc man or pc builder ,if i know what to say then maybe i wont get conned
thanx for all answers :tazz:

Advertisements

warriorscot

warriorscot

Member 5k

• Retired Staff
  • 8,889 posts
definately dont ask for a 3.8 Mhz pc and you will have a job trying to get a 3.8 Ghz cpu as well the fastest ive ever seen to buy was 3.6Ghz and at 450 quid it is one of the most expensive cpus out there. And from what ive heard of ausie prices it will probably be even more other there.
Try looking at AMD the 4000+ is cheaper than the 3.6 ghz amd and is rated at a faster speed not actual clock speed though bare in mind performance rating.

What do you want to use the pc for and then parts can be recommended to suit the use.

dragonfire

dragonfire

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts
thanx for your info
i would like to use pc for games /digital photos /media
just general use
ALSO MOTHERWELL WILL WIN THIS YEAR

KGH

KGH

• PipPipPip
  • 101 posts
First, build it yourself. You will save a bundle ordering parts online and building yourself, if you have any experience at all.