Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

need help with computer

• Please log in to reply

helpme101

helpme101

• PipPip
  • 23 posts
i am trying to get my old computer to work, and since i am not very good at working computers i need some help. It is a hp with windows 98 that is all i no about it right now. when i boot it up all i get is the program manager, and when i try to close that it shutsdown my computer. im sorry i dont have anymore information on the topic, but i am looking for it. plz if anyone could help me i would greatly appreciate it.

Advertisements

wannabe1

wannabe1

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 16,645 posts
Hi helpme101...Welcome to G2G!

Let's see if we can get this machine fired up so we can do a little troubleshooting.

Do you have a Windows 98 Start Up disk (floppy) or have access to another machine running Win98 on which you can make one? If "no" to both, you can get one here...

http://bootdisk.com/bootdisk.htm (Win98SE...follow the instructions on the page to create your startup disk)

Put the floppy in the machine you wish to boot while powered down and turn it on. When prompted, choose the option to "Start Windows with CD ROM Support" and press Enter. At the "A" prompt, type D: and press Enter...at the "D" prompt, type scandisk an press enter. At the end of the scan you will be given the option to perform a surface scan...press enter. Whan scanning is complete, remove the floppy, press Ctrl+Alt+Delete to reboot. Please post back with the results of this procedure.

wannabe1