Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

single SATA drive not found in BIOS

• Please log in to reply

plapello

plapello

• PipPip
  • 12 posts
Hello, First time posting... I have a problem that I need help with. First off I have this:
MS-6728PE 865PE2 motherboard
P4 3.0
1gb
WD 250gb SATA
300w power
etc.
I have installed a ton of systems (with IDE hdd). But I am new to SATA. I figured you can plug it in and it would be recognized like in the past but after reading all these posts it is not true. I have double checked everything and it is all correct. When I first turned it on I end up at a screen that says please insert boot disk. So I entered my Windows XP Pro disk and of course I get an error saying I don't have a hard drive. So I resarted and went into the BIOS and checked everything and in the standard config are it show no Master or Slave Primary IDE drive... only Master and Slave Secondary IDE which is my DVD drive and DVDRW drive. I thought that was strange so I checked again and all is plugged in and I ready that I need to go to Integrated devices and change the IDE part from PATA only to PATA + SATA and change to Native Mode (which it won't let me).... so I press F10 to save and it reboots to a black screen. I wait 15 min and still there so I reset the jumper for the BIOS so it'll reboot. I even made a F6 boot disk for the operation system install and I do the F6 and I press S and put the floppy in and after 5 sec. it still says I have no hard drive. Tonight I am going to swap the SATA cable and see what happens. I hear the hard dr