Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Looks ok to me, but what do I know?


  • Please log in to reply

#1
bjdibbins

bjdibbins

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
Hi there,

I'm having various problems with my system, and I could use some help. I don't think it's a malware/trojan problem, but I'm not an expert so I've posted my hijack this log just in case.

My system consists of an A7N8Xdeluxe rev 2.0 (bios 1008) with an AMD 2800+, 2xSeagate IDE's on the primary channel, and a Pioneer DVDrom and Sony DVD burner on the secondary. TI4200 graphics card (64mb DDR), and a SATA ATA 200 WD drive that is normally unplugged due to the problems (as below).

I'm using a D-Link DSL-G604T ADSL wireless router, and have plugged both this PC and my spare old PC into it with normal cat5 cables.

The D-Link takes care of most of my firewall needs, but I also run Zonealarm 5 (with antivirus) and NOD32 AV. I use ad-aware and spybot, and they don't complain about anything more serious than tracking cookies. The av's are working as they occasionally spot a java script trojan in an html page (and get rid of it), but other than that they haven't found anything lately.

My OS is Win XP Home edition (OEM), and I keep it well updated with everything from microsoft update except for SP2.

Since I started having problems I've tried using a fleet of different pc fixers and problem detectors, but so far they don't seem to have done anything more useful than reorder my startup files to avoid conflicts.

My symptoms are as follows...

1. First problem: When trying to run Micrososoft Reader, I have lately been getting a dialog box with an error: "Application failed to initialize: 0xc0000005". reappears after pressing ok the first time, second time it stays away. I also cannot properly run 'The Bourse' (A Stock Market charts package), and I believe this is because it is failing to load the Pervasive Database required (the exe file bda6.exe appears in the task manager though). Also, when clicking a link from an email (In microsoft outlook), if sometimes takes a little longer to load IE, and if that happens a dialog box appears saying 'unable to locate link browser (etc)', which I cancel.

This problem appeared about a month ago. It hung around for 2 weeks or so then one time after I had rebooted (not a usual occurence as my system usually stays on) I noted the problem was no longer there! My Bourse loaded and ran fine, as did my Microsoft Reader. Last night however I came home to find my computer had frozen (after transferring files between pc and a Creative Zen (ipod type device). After rebooting, the problem is now back.

At one time I thought the problem might have been linked to an update either from microsoft of stardock, that a later release fixed. However with the problem back again, that seems less likely.


2. Second problem - not my real priority, but possibly related. When I connect the SATA drive I get some intermittent odd behaviour from all my hard drives. Some of the files I try to copy, move or delete are locked as being in use or running, even though they haven't been. I've tried disconnecting the second pc (on the lan) to make sure that's not affecting them. The files are no longer locked if the SATA isn't connected & I can delete at will. When I first bought the drive I installed the SATA drivers, and as far as I know, the drivers (and the SATA drive) work fine. I even managed to install windows on it, along with SP2. I haven't activated that installation as I don't know what effect that might have on my existing installation (on the IDE drive), but eventally I want to use the SATA as my boot drive - just can't be bothered reinstalling 2 years worth from scratch.

I thought the problem might be linked to the SATA drive being 200g, but I'm pretty sure that between the drivers I installed and the 1008 update bios for the mobo that shouldn't be a problem. In any case, I've disconnected the drive again.

So there are my problems, I hope someone can help.

My guess is that my filesystem is somewhat corrupted, and it's because certain files are locked that neither of the two programs I mentioned will run.


Cheers,

Brian



Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
Scan saved at 4:33:01 PM, on 07/08/2005
Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

Running processes:
C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Stardock\SDMCP.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\cisvc.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\CTsvcCDA.EXE
C:\WINDOWS\system32\gearsec.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\GEARSEC.EXE
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\VS7DEBUG\MDM.EXE
C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL$MICROSOFTBCM\Binn\sqlservr.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
C:\Program Files\Eset\nod32krn.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\nvsvc32.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\tcpsvcs.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\snmp.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\ZoneLabs\vsmon.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\sstray.exe
C:\Program Files\Eset\nod32kui.exe
C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_04\bin\jusched.exe
C:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zlclient.exe
C:\Program Files\SlySoft\AnyDVD\AnyDVD.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\RUNDLL32.EXE
C:\Program Files\ASUS\Probe\AsusProb.exe
C:\Program Files\CpuIdle\cpuidle.exe
D:\Acrobat 7\Distillr\Acrotray.exe
C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctfmon.exe
C:\Program Files\Microsoft ActiveSync\WCESCOMM.EXE
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Mobipocket Shared\webcomp.exe
C:\Program Files\Sprite Software\Sprite Backup\SpriteService.exe
C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Messenger\ypager.exe
C:\Program Files\WIDCOMM\Bluetooth Software\BTTray.exe
C:\Program Files\Microsoft AntiSpyware\gcasDtServ.exe
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\1033\msoffice.exe
C:\WINDOWS\Integrator.exe
C:\WINDOWS\system32\cidaemon.exe
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\OFFICE11\OUTLOOK.EXE
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE
C:\Documents and Settings\admin\Desktop\HijackThis.exe

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://www.dodo.com.au/
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://www.dodo.com.au/
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - D:\Acrobat 7\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
O2 - BHO: UberButton Class - {5BAB4B5B-68BC-4B02-94D6-2FC0DE4A7897} - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common\yiesrvc.dll
O2 - BHO: YahooTaggedBM Class - {65D886A2-7CA7-479B-BB95-14D1EFB7946A} - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common\YIeTagBm.dll
O2 - BHO: AcroIEToolbarHelper Class - {AE7CD045-E861-484f-8273-0445EE161910} - D:\Acrobat 7\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll
O3 - Toolbar: FlashGet Bar - {E0E899AB-F487-11D5-8D29-0050BA6940E3} - C:\PROGRA~1\FlashGet\fgiebar.dll
O3 - Toolbar: Easy-WebPrint - {327C2873-E90D-4c37-AA9D-10AC9BABA46C} - C:\Program Files\Canon\Easy-WebPrint\Toolband.dll
O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
O3 - Toolbar: TextAloud - {F053C368-5458-45B2-9B4D-D8914BDDDBFF} - C:\PROGRA~1\TEXTAL~1\TAForIE.dll
O3 - Toolbar: Adobe PDF - {47833539-D0C5-4125-9FA8-0819E2EAAC93} - D:\Acrobat 7\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\System32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nForce Tray Options] sstray.exe /r
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PinnacleDriverCheck] C:\WINDOWS\System32\PSDrvCheck.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nod32kui] "C:\Program Files\Eset\nod32kui.exe" /WAITSERVICE
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [UpdateManager] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Sonic\Update Manager\sgtray.exe" /r
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SunJavaUpdateSched] C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_04\bin\jusched.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Zone Labs Client] "C:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zlclient.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [RemoteControl] C:\WINDOWS\System32\rmctrl.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AnyDVD] C:\Program Files\SlySoft\AnyDVD\AnyDVD.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LogonStudio] "C:\Program Files\WinCustomize\LogonStudio\logonstudio.exe" /RANDOM
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvMediaCenter] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\System32\NvMcTray.dll,NvTaskbarInit
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [gcasServ] "C:\Program Files\Microsoft AntiSpyware\gcasServ.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ASUS Probe] C:\Program Files\ASUS\Probe\AsusProb.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CpuIdle] C:\Program Files\CpuIdle\cpuidle.exe
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Acrobat Assistant 7.0] "D:\Acrobat 7\Distillr\Acrotray.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NVCLOCK] rundll32 nvclock.dll,fnNvclock
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [ctfmon.exe] C:\WINDOWS\System32\ctfmon.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [CursorXP] C:\Program Files\CursorXP\CursorXP.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [H/PC Connection Agent] "C:\Program Files\Microsoft ActiveSync\WCESCOMM.EXE"
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Mobipocket Web Companion] C:\Program Files\Common Files\Mobipocket Shared\webcomp.exe -m
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [SpriteService] "C:\Program Files\Sprite Software\Sprite Backup\SpriteService.exe"
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Yahoo! Pager] "C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Messenger\ypager.exe" -quiet
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [AutoUpdate] D:\Serials3k\s3k_autoupdate.exe
O4 - Startup: AntiCrash.lnk = C:\Program Files\Dachshund Software\AntiCrash\AntiCrash.exe
O4 - Global Startup: Adobe Acrobat Speed Launcher.lnk = ?
O4 - Global Startup: BTTray.lnk = ?
O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Office Shortcut Bar.lnk = ?
O8 - Extra context menu item: &Yahoo! Search - file:///C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common/ycsrch.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: Convert link target to Adobe PDF - res://D:\Acrobat 7\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll/AcroIECapture.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Convert link target to existing PDF - res://D:\Acrobat 7\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll/AcroIEAppend.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Convert selected links to Adobe PDF - res://D:\Acrobat 7\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll/AcroIECaptureSelLinks.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Convert selected links to existing PDF - res://D:\Acrobat 7\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll/AcroIEAppendSelLinks.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Convert selection to Adobe PDF - res://D:\Acrobat 7\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll/AcroIECapture.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Convert selection to existing PDF - res://D:\Acrobat 7\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll/AcroIEAppend.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Convert to Adobe PDF - res://D:\Acrobat 7\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll/AcroIECapture.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Convert to existing PDF - res://D:\Acrobat 7\Acrobat\AcroIEFavClient.dll/AcroIEAppend.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Download All by FlashGet - C:\PROGRA~1\FlashGet\jc_all.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: Download using FlashGet - C:\PROGRA~1\FlashGet\jc_link.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\OFFICE11\EXCEL.EXE/3000
O8 - Extra context menu item: Easy-WebPrint Add To Print List - res://C:\Program Files\Canon\Easy-WebPrint\Resource.dll/RC_AddToList.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Easy-WebPrint High Speed Print - res://C:\Program Files\Canon\Easy-WebPrint\Resource.dll/RC_HSPrint.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Easy-WebPrint Preview - res://C:\Program Files\Canon\Easy-WebPrint\Resource.dll/RC_Preview.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Easy-WebPrint Print - res://C:\Program Files\Canon\Easy-WebPrint\Resource.dll/RC_Print.html
O8 - Extra context menu item: Yahoo! &Dictionary - file:///C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common/ycdict.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: Yahoo! &Maps - file:///C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common/ycmap.htm
O8 - Extra context menu item: Yahoo! &SMS - file:///C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common/ycsms.htm
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_04\bin\npjpi150_04.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre1.5.0_04\bin\npjpi150_04.dll
O9 - Extra button: Create Mobile Favorite - {2EAF5BB1-070F-11D3-9307-00C04FAE2D4F} - C:\Program Files\Microsoft ActiveSync\inetrepl.dll
O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {2EAF5BB2-070F-11D3-9307-00C04FAE2D4F} - C:\Program Files\Microsoft ActiveSync\inetrepl.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Create Mobile Favorite... - {2EAF5BB2-070F-11D3-9307-00C04FAE2D4F} - C:\Program Files\Microsoft ActiveSync\inetrepl.dll
O9 - Extra button: Yahoo! Services - {5BAB4B5B-68BC-4B02-94D6-2FC0DE4A7897} - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common\yiesrvc.dll
O9 - Extra button: Research - {92780B25-18CC-41C8-B9BE-3C9C571A8263} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\OFFICE11\REFIEBAR.DLL
O9 - Extra button: FlashGet - {D6E814A0-E0C5-11d4-8D29-0050BA6940E3} - C:\PROGRA~1\FlashGet\flashget.exe
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: &FlashGet - {D6E814A0-E0C5-11d4-8D29-0050BA6940E3} - C:\PROGRA~1\FlashGet\flashget.exe
O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\MSMSGS.EXE
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\MSMSGS.EXE
O16 - DPF: {0320C93D-706C-4B70-81B6-69A947071524} (Downloader.clsDownloader) - http://www.dqzone.com/downloader.cab
O16 - DPF: {17492023-C23A-453E-A040-C7C580BBF700} (Windows Genuine Advantage Validation Tool) - http://go.microsoft....k/?linkid=39204
O16 - DPF: {288451AE-BE24-4216-B946-8600E0498584} (DASWebShop Class) - http://das.microsoft...tail/DASAct.cab
O16 - DPF: {2B323CD9-50E3-11D3-9466-00A0C9700498} (Yahoo! Audio Conferencing) - http://us.i1.yimg.co...v45/yacscom.cab
O16 - DPF: {30528230-99F7-4BB4-88D8-FA1D4F56A2AB} (YInstStarter Class) - C:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common\yinsthelper.dll
O16 - DPF: {4E330863-6A11-11D0-BFD8-006097237877} (InstallFromTheWeb ActiveX Control) - http://tw.msi.com.tw...nt/iftwclix.cab
O16 - DPF: {54B52E52-8000-4413-BD67-FC7FE24B59F2} (EARTPatchX Class) - http://files.ea.com/...h/v2/EARTPX.cab
O16 - DPF: {5CE8C9BE-B561-4311-8C03-D6F6C1CAF7E1} (CSND_AX.ctlCSND_AX) - http://h50071.www5.h...ort/CSND_AX.CAB
O16 - DPF: {6E32070A-766D-4EE6-879C-DC1FA91D2FC3} (MUWebControl Class) - http://update.micros...b?1121064182375
O16 - DPF: {814EA0DA-E0D9-4AA4-833C-A1A6D38E79E9} (DASWebDownload Class) - http://das.microsoft...tail/DASAct.cab
O16 - DPF: {B9191F79-5613-4C76-AA2A-398534BB8999} (YAddBook Class) - http://us.dl1.yimg.c...utocomplete.cab
O16 - DPF: {D3E33EA6-92BF-444E-9DF3-E7F879F2006F} (TSRFileManagerXControl Control) - http://www.sims2.the...ationWizard.cab
O16 - DPF: {F58E1CEF-A068-4C15-BA5E-587CAF3EE8C6} (MSN Chat Control 4.5) - http://fdl.msn.com/p...t/msnchat45.cab
O20 - Winlogon Notify: MCPClient - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Stardock\mcpstub.dll
O20 - Winlogon Notify: WB - C:\Program Files\Stardock\Object Desktop\WindowBlinds\fastload.dll
O21 - SSODL: EnhancedDialog - {6D972050-A934-44D7-AC67-7C9E0B264220} - C:\Program Files\Stardock\Object Desktop\EnhancedDialog\enhdlginit.dll
O21 - SSODL: IconPackager Repair - {1799460C-0BC8-4865-B9DF-4A36CD703FF0} - C:\Program Files\Stardock\Object Desktop\IconPackager\iprepair.dll
O23 - Service: Adobe LM Service - Adobe Systems - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe Systems Shared\Service\Adobelmsvc.exe
O23 - Service: Creative Service for CDROM Access - Creative Technology Ltd - C:\WINDOWS\System32\CTsvcCDA.EXE
O23 - Service: GEARSecurity - GEAR Software - C:\WINDOWS\system32\gearsec.exe
O23 - Service: GEARSecurity_BackUp - GEAR Software - C:\WINDOWS\System32\GEARSEC.EXE
O23 - Service: NOD32 Kernel Service (NOD32krn) - Eset - C:\Program Files\Eset\nod32krn.exe
O23 - Service: NVIDIA Display Driver Service (NVSvc) - NVIDIA Corporation - C:\WINDOWS\System32\nvsvc32.exe
O23 - Service: TrueVector Internet Monitor (vsmon) - Zone Labs Inc. - C:\WINDOWS\system32\ZoneLabs\vsmon.exe

Edited by bjdibbins, 07 August 2005 - 02:01 AM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#2
Metallica

Metallica

    Spyware Veteran

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 31,672 posts
Uninstall Serials 3k (Serial 3000) Crack-Software

If that does not solve it, let me know and I'll move this thread to Hardware.

Regards,
  • 0

#3
bjdibbins

bjdibbins

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
Hi Pieter,

Ok, will remove it. But that program has only been installed for about a week before the problems reoccurred, certainly not before the problem first appeared.

Since my latest reboot, I've noticed that the save file dialog box has disappeared. Using notepad, I get a message that I need to free up available memory, though if I run goodmem, it shows 285meg of 512mb physical memory free (my c drive has over 1.4gig free as well)

Problem may go away after I reboot next.

Cheers,

Brian
  • 0

#4
Metallica

Metallica

    Spyware Veteran

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 31,672 posts
OK. No problem. Let me know if I need to move it to the Hardware forum.
  • 0

#5
bjdibbins

bjdibbins

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
Hi Pieter,

File removed, and system rebooted. I still can't get a file save dialog when saving a file using object edit, or from internet explorer. Notepad still complains it needs more memory.

Do you know which dll is called when that file save dialog box is requested? I've noticed that I don't have a problem when using Word (obviously uses a different save dialog.)

Cheers,

Brian
  • 0

#6
Metallica

Metallica

    Spyware Veteran

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 31,672 posts
The dll that causes most of the problems of this kind would be oleaut32.dll

I was wondering why you haven't updated to SP2 yet?
Doing so replaces a lot of system files with newer versions.
It might just be what you need.

Regards,
  • 0

#7
bjdibbins

bjdibbins

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
Hi again,

I've just searched using google and tried a fix to restore the missing dialog box, which involved replacing the comdlg32.ocx then running "regsvr32.exe comdlg32.ocx". I tried this but no effect,

Cheers,

Brian
  • 0

#8
Metallica

Metallica

    Spyware Veteran

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 31,672 posts
Another thing that would interest me.

Did you install Microsoft AntiSpyware before or after the problems started?

Regards,
  • 0

#9
bjdibbins

bjdibbins

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
Hi Pieter,

At the time, SP2 was still new and I had heard a number of stories about problems with various software that wouldn't run after it was installed.

I simply haven't reviewed that original decision, but perhaps it's time to bite the bullet now. (I won't do it just yet though).

I've just searched my windows directory for that DLL.

The version in my System32 and dllcache is dated 29/8/2002 (version 3.50.5016.0). But there is a later version dated 4/8/2004 (version 5.1.2600.2180) in a softwaredistribution/download folder.

I was going to try replacing the copy from dllcache first, and then try the newer version if that didn't work. However when I tried to delete it I was told the file was in use.

I'm going to leave this until tomorrow - it's after 1,15am my time, and I'd rather be alert to do this.. :tazz:

Thanks for your help.

Cheers,

Brian
  • 0

#10
Metallica

Metallica

    Spyware Veteran

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 31,672 posts
You can try if running sfc /scannow will find and replace the outdated version for you.

Regards,
  • 0

Advertisements


#11
bjdibbins

bjdibbins

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
Hi Pieter,

I installed MS Antispyware before the problems started with acessing Reader and the Bourse,

but I installed that well after I first tried to install the new SATA drive.

The new missing dialog box problem is a new thing in the last few days (after the hijack log was posted.)

I'm running the windows file protection command now, and since it asked for my Windows Home cd after running for a while, I expect it is probably doing some replacing.

The program has ended without any sort of report, so not sure if it has had any result yet, so I'll reboot and see if anything has chaged.

Cheers,

Brian
  • 0

#12
bjdibbins

bjdibbins

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
Hi again Pieter,

Ok, I've rebooted and initally had a problem as my dsiplay was set to 640 and 4bit colour. Eventually tried updating the drivers for my adapter and that seems to have worked.

Somewhere in all of the reboots and changes, Microsoft Reader and the Bourse are now working, but the save dialog is still gone.

Don't you just love intermittant problems! :tazz:

Cheers,

Brian
  • 0

#13
Metallica

Metallica

    Spyware Veteran

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 31,672 posts
Can you disable MSAS for a while and see if that makes a difference?

And can you try and specify what does and doesn't work with the save dialog?
I am having a hard time figuring out what exactly happens.

Regards,
  • 0

#14
bjdibbins

bjdibbins

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 21 posts
Hi Pieter,

Ok, MSAS is shutdown now.

Using ObjectEdit, if I click save file, the program flashes for a minute, but no save dialog box appears.

If I try saving a web page in Internet Explorer (eg, this one for example), I get a message "the web page couldn't be saved"

If I've clicked on a file to download using IE, the open,save,cancel dialog box appears, and clicking open or cancel does what it's supposed to (eg, if downloading a lit file, it downloads and then reader opens), but if I click save, the original dialog box disappears and the file save (filename & location, etc) location dialog box doesn't appear.

Notepad gives the 'out of memory' error as mentioned before.

I can't do anything with the oleaut32.dll as the file is always 'in use' when I try to replace it

Cheers,

Brian
  • 0

#15
Metallica

Metallica

    Spyware Veteran

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 31,672 posts
It sounds to me as if ObjectEdit has taken over something that isn't working properly.
I've never used the program, but can you try this:

Open IE Properties > Programs and select "Reset
web settings" > Apply. Then go to the Advanced tab and select "Restore
Defaults" > Apply.

Regards,
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP