Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Invisible Popups?

• This topic is locked This topic is locked

k0rr

k0rr

• PipPip
  • 90 posts
Hi, I'm new to Geeks To Go.
I have, what I call, invisible popups.
Can't really describe them really, but I'll try:
Let's say I'm gaming or doing something that requires full screen. Once in a while, my application would minimize because of an invisible popup. As I press Alt+Tab to go back into my application, an IE page is present, usually with a URL, as the page has not loaded yet. However, when I select it, there is no IE page onscreen. I open up task manager, and iexplorer.exe is running. I end the process, and continue what I was doing earlier, but after a while, it repeats itself. iexplorer.exe is running once again.
This does not happen at a constant rate. Sometimes it will happen every minute, sometimes once every 2 hrs. I've done scans with Ad-Aware SE, Spybot S&D, and Microsoft Antispyware. Ad-Adware & Microsoft Antispyware find nothing. Spybot occasionally gives me the entries "DoubleClick", "Advertising.com", "BFast", and "Avenue A, Inc.". however these entries are just cookies. Removing them seems to do nothing, as they respawn a few minutes later.
I use Avant Browser, which is an IE enhancement. This problem occurs even if Avant Browser is off.
I think the reason theyre "invisible" is that most of the sites that have popped up before (can be seen when Alt+Tab-ing) are in my restricted sites in internet options.