Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Need some file server help...

• Please log in to reply

ditchmagnet

ditchmagnet

• PipPip
  • 12 posts
Im using win 2003 as my sever os, im using it at my house, im pretty new to servers.
everyone in the house has their documents in their own share on the server, and i have the my documents on each computer to target that share.
anyway, im wondering, is there a way i can allow them to create viewable shares (so when they go to network nieghborhood from somewhere else) in their My Documents? cause there is no shareing from thier computer in the My Documents since they are being pulled from a share on the server (is this making sense?) anyways, if i need to give more details, let me know, and thanks for any tips.
-the ditchmagnet

Advertisements

dsenette

dsenette

Je suis Napoléon!

• Community Leader
  • 26,047 posts
  • MVP
so basically you want them to be able to make a folder inside of their "mydocuments" folder on the server...that everyone else would be able to see? this would only be accomplished by making that entire folder viewable....because permissions are inheireted from the top down....so basically...if you wanted to share the last folder in the tree you would either have to only share that folder.......or share the top folder.. but if you shared the top folder all folders down the line would becomve visible...not neccessarily accessable...but visible

ditchmagnet

ditchmagnet

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts