Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Symantec, or not Symantec

• Please log in to reply

trapjaw76

trapjaw76

• PipPip
  • 22 posts
So I'm pretty new to computers, and my wife and I just purchased our first, a Dell, a little under a year ago. We bought Norton Internet Security 2005 and it seemed to be doing the trick, along with the Ad-Aware SE I downloaded. However, I came to these forums to get help with a little malware problem that was popping up. Maybe you've heard of that nasty little Winfixer/Winantispyware Vundo crap going around? That hit us hard. Anyways, now that that is fixed (thanks again Kat!) my question is should I use one of the free programs that I've been recommended, like AVG Free? Or stick with Norton and just be more vicious about downloading live updates? Can I use both? :tazz:

Advertisements

Retired Tech

Retired Tech

Retired Staff

• Retired Staff
  • 20,563 posts
Whichever anti virus solution you use, updates are an integral part of ensuring you PC is protected

trapjaw76

trapjaw76

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts
I was under the assumption that my Norton was running live updates frequently on it's own, and I would run it at least once a week manually myself. :tazz: I dunno.

Retired Tech

Retired Tech

Retired Staff

• Retired Staff
  • 20,563 posts
I also thought automatic updates were possible with Norton