Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Newbie needs help with first build!

• Please log in to reply

drummergirl96

drummergirl96

• Pip
  • 2 posts
I'm a newbie and excited to learn from anyone willing to share knowledge! I plan to order my parts soon and have narrowed down the major pieces as I've listed below, wondered if you could give an opinion on my selections and make suggestions if something doesnt look alright. Also looking for imput on the case I have chosen http://www.newegg.co...N82E16811125460 . Since this is my first build I also have no idea what other misc. parts and items I should be getting (fans, cooling devices, cords, misc parts, blue lights for my clear sided case :tazz: ). If you don't mind I've love some insight on what else I should be buying.

Case: Chenming 301KEBL-O-AW Blue Aluminum ATX mid tower
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16811125460
PSU: ePOWER Puma II EP-450XP-P2B ATX12V 450W Power Supply
100-120V AC/200-240V AC UL, CE, CB, FCC - Retail
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ 1 GHz FSB Socket 939 Dual Core
Processor
Motherboard: ASUS A8N-E ATX AMD Motherboard
Hard Drive: (2) Western Digital Caviar SE16 250GB 3"5 SATA 3.0Gb/s
or (2) HITACHI Deskstar T7K250 0A31636 250GB 7200 RPM
8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
Sound Card: Creative Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS
Video Card: eVGA GeForce 6800 256-P2-N383-TX
RAM: OCZ Performance 2 GB (2 x 1 GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Dual
Channel Kit
LCD: Acer AL1914SM-8 19in LCD Monitor w/Speakers (Silver) Retail
DVD-RW: Sony DW-Q28A-B2 Internal Double Layer DVD±RW