Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Need help with a few linux basics

• Please log in to reply

Novaprospekt

Novaprospekt

• PipPip
  • 66 posts
Hey, I'm sure you guys get a lot of people like me who are complete noobs with linux or people asking for help... so I apologize for the monotony.

I recently downloaded the latest version of SuSe via the stickied link at the top of this forum. I installed it to my storage harddrive which actually had just been cleaned so didn't need to format.

Anyway, it was my first ever linux install and that pretty much went well and I'm actually writing this from the Konqueror browser heh. But, have no idea what UNIX is, or how to use it. I have -some- experience using shell commands but that's from window's cmd function and it's mainly changing directories, and copying files. Not executing them or modifying permissions, etc.

So far, though, the main problems I seem to be having are the following:

1. I don't know how to install programs... I've sorta figured out .tar.gz but not .run
2. For some reason, my sound isn't working at all, though I believe my sound card was detected.
3. My mouse's forward and back thumb buttons aren't working in Firefox or Konqueror (Logitech mx518)

----