Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Programming basics for absolute beginners..

• Please log in to reply

DeathOutdone

DeathOutdone

• PipPipPip
  • 241 posts
I am starting this topic in the hopes of learning a little terminology and the basics of programming (not in any specific language, but overall terms used in the science).

What are some good terms to know? For instance, what is a compiler? Does it take the code written in a language and turn it into assembly language? How does one program in assembly language (the language the computer reads) and how does it work? Can you program in binary or in hexidecimal? Can someone please explain all of these things to me and possibly refer me to any good sites you know of?

Advertisements

W-Unit

W-Unit

• PipPipPip
  • 170 posts

I am starting this topic in the hopes of learning a little terminology and the basics of programming (not in any specific language, but overall terms used in the science).

What are some good terms to know? For instance, what is a compiler? Does it take the code written in a language and turn it into assembly language? How does one program in assembly language (the language the computer reads) and how does it work? Can you program in binary or in hexidecimal? Can someone please explain all of these things to me and possibly refer me to any good sites you know of?

Some good terms to know...wow...a lot. Maybe it's best to just pick one up and learn the terms as you go, but I'll try to give you an overview. I could write a whole full-length tutorial on this.