Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

XP Corrupt Hive Blue Screen Massacre

• Please log in to reply

strode84

strode84

• PipPip
  • 13 posts
Hi,

I'm not very good with computers and have found this problem diagnosed on other stes but Im afraid I need kids terms to be able to get my head around it. When I try to start up my computer there is a screen saying something about a corrupt hive and system32/config/software which is corrupt and it is beginning a dump of physical memory.

I cant even get it to start in safe mode. I read that you need to do something with your windows xp setup cd but my problem is that Im studying abroad and I dont have it with me. Is there any way I could download it or fix my problem without using it?

I am concerned my files may be at risk but as am poor student cant afford someone to fix it

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Thank you

Advertisements

dsenette

dsenette

Je suis Napoléon!

• Community Leader
  • 26,047 posts
  • MVP
that one's gonna be pretty hard to fix without the cd...is there a chance that you can get the cd mailed to you?

wannabe1

wannabe1

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 16,645 posts
Hi strode84...

It sounds like a Repair Installation of XP would be your best option, but I'd sure like to have a little more information on your system first. Is this an OEM machine (ie: HP, Compaq, Dell)? If so, what make and model. Do you have a friend you might borrow a retail version XP CD from...this would come in handy for restoring damaged or corrupt system files.