Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

XP Administrator problems

• This topic is locked This topic is locked

bharat14

bharat14

• Pip
  • 3 posts
Hi there
Much as i would like to be, I am not an expert on computers. So if anyone does take the trouble to help me please "use plain and simple english". I used to be able to defragment up until now but then with the help of a friend ( who has now gone for a 2 nonth holiday) i managed to install XP pro. Unintentionally, I set an administrator account. After a many attempts managed to remember the password. Here is the problem, i cannot defragment, it gives all sort of error messages like " you dont have admin priveleges" or "you need to have admin rights" etc. I have used the "user accounts" option to give myself "admin rights" but to no avail. How do i log on as an administrator? How do i defragment? Please can any generous and helpful
soul help a frustrated and useless XP user? i would be grateful. :) :) :tazz:

Thanking all those who try to explain a solution.

Regards
Bharat

Advertisements

STV0726

STV0726

• PipPip
  • 72 posts
:) Hi, and welcome to GeekstoGo! I am STV0726, a geek in training and would like to welcome you to this great community. So welcome, and thanks for choosing us to help you!