Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Help with cooling

• Please log in to reply

philipwinfield

philipwinfield

• Pip
  • 2 posts
I have an XP3200 and have some serious cooling problems. The CPU is 77oC on idle and goes up to 90 sometimes on full load. Ocassionally the PC restarts and as I use the machine for work I am desperate to solve the issue.

I have a coolermaster vortex dream of which I can only say is nice & quiet. I have taken it off and applied some new thermal compund and then reset it but this has had no effect on the temp.

It seems to me that the cpu footprint is very small for the Athalon and so cooling is going to be tricky anyway. The big copper block only covers a fraction of the chip which is expossed slightly from the main AMD block. If it were in the same plane I am sure cooling would be a lot better.

Please can anyone come up with a recommendation? Is there a way I can increase the RPM of the fan as it just plugs into the fan socket of the motherboard currently and I can not see how to do this.

Many thanks to whoever solves this!

Phil

Advertisements

Doby

Doby

Member 2k

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,075 posts
Hi,

Don't worry about the "footprint" this is the design and will work with your hs, I checked the specs and your good with it.

What type of paste did you use? There is the possibility of applying to much so double check the instructions on how to apply.