Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Windows 7 // Computer Problem

• Please log in to reply

xsarah

xsarah

• Pip
  • 2 posts
Hi.

I have a G61 series HP laptop, which I have been using for about 3 years now. Basically, my laptop has been having [overheating] issues for (I think) around 9 months now, and I did clean its air vents 3 times during these months when the problem started. It's not really a gaming laptop, but I still pretty much used it for 2 high-end MMO's at medium to lowest settings, other than just web browsing, video streaming, internet messaging, online calling. And then, during the last 1.5 months, I was getting some "black screen" just by streaming even the simplest of [YouTube] videos, running more than 2 programs (with Skype always open, MSN, or Firefox/Chrome, etc.), browsing a page for too long (Facebook, YouTube, etc.). When this happens, I just forcefully turn off my computer, and wait for a couple minutes. And when I turn it back on, I always select "Start Windows normally". *Knowing about my "black screen" issue, my computer activities became minimal with only Skype open, some light browsing as much as possible, and/or MSN.

Judging by what I've said so far, I'm quite careless and impatient in taking care of my laptop, don't you think? :upset: