Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

overclock, or upgrade?

• Please log in to reply

crouth

crouth

• PipPip
  • 24 posts
Question: To overclock, or upgrade the cpu?
I am a part-time day trader. We use a software program that uses a continuous data feed updating about every 8-12 seconds, and running algorithm calculations based on the data for each foreign exchange currency pair that I have open in the trading window. We need to be able to load enough data to go back about 6 months, plus what is current of course. This is a tremendous amount of data that is being re-calculated each time we get a new 8-12 second tick of data. With all that data, the computer is slowing down. I am somewhat of a techy, but only a shade tree-trial by error techy. I built my computer, the specs are below. I here some of the traders are doing fine with the data, including one, who has a P4, 3-4ghz machine, pretty powerful. I am running an AMD Athlon 64 3000, with 1gb memory, a sata hard drive, and other appropriate specs. I've tried everything except overclocking this machine, or just upgrading the cpu. I've talked to tech twice, and the fact is that this cpu is overtaxed. You're thought please.
Chris
MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard
ASUS EAX550GE/TD/256M Radeon X550 256MB DDR PCI Express x16 Video Card
ENERMAX Noisetaker EG495P-VE SFMA ATX 485W Power Supply
CORSAIR ValueSelect 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Kit System Memory Model VS1GBKIT400