Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Virtual Memory !


  • Please log in to reply

#406
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
You are welcome. I am still monitoring this topic as well as Christopher's.
  • 0

Advertisements


#407
simplee55

simplee55

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 539 posts
rshaffer:

I'm waiting on Chris to let me know what he plans to do with increasing his memory, I will keep you posted on that .... OK.

  • 0

#408
simplee55

simplee55

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 539 posts
rshaffer:

Can you point me in the right direction of how to Backup my system. I don't know if I'm asking the right question, but hope you know what I mean.

Also, I was talking with DELL's Tech Support today inquiring about the prices for their Hard Drives and Memory.

The memory: 2, 1 GB Module for Dell Dimension 3000 Desktop
will cost total: $106.44

I didn't get the grand total for the Hard Drive, but their selling it for a List price of $89.00.

In your opinion, can I get the two for a much cheaper price, or is that the standard price.

If I can get it cheaper, can you point me in that direction ???

Thanks


Edited by simplee55, 04 December 2009 - 06:18 PM.

  • 0

#409
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
I would have to find the information on the memory again to see what I can find it for. Also what size is the hard drive you are looking at?
  • 0

#410
simplee55

simplee55

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 539 posts
rshaffer:

I had no idea that you answered my post, never got a notification. OE is really acting up now.

Anyway, I don't know the size of the hard drive I'm looking for, DELL tech support never told me the size of the hard drive, we only got as far as the price.

I'm going to post several SNAPSHOTS so you can see my System and maybe you'll be able to tell what size I need.

I don't know if you need the attached, but if this can't help you, let me know.

Thanks rshaffer for all your help !!!

  • 0

#411
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Well first pic shows you have a 75 gig hard drive. I'm sure you want something larger. None of the pics show me what kind of memory you have only the amount.
  • 0

#412
simplee55

simplee55

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 539 posts
The Max Memory is 2048.

Hope that's the information you want.

Also, can you tell me how to do a Disc Backup.

Edited by simplee55, 04 December 2009 - 09:05 PM.

  • 0

#413
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Depends on what you want to backup. Data only or the whole drive.
  • 0

#414
simplee55

simplee55

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 539 posts
I guess the whole drive. There is a Client that Chris has on his Compaq PC that asks for the PC to be backed up, so I guess that means the system .... don't know.
  • 0

#415
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Then something like Acronis disk image would do it.
I only backup my data files which I keep on a separate drive also.
  • 0

Advertisements


#416
simplee55

simplee55

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 539 posts
rshaffer:

I have NO idea what to do.

But every time the message would come up on Chris' PC for backup, what was Compaq talking about ???

  • 0

#417
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
I'm not sure what message it is showing.
It may be the system saying that the drive needs to be backed up or that a backup is scheduled. I'm not sure without knowing the exact message and being able to look it up.
  • 0

#418
123Runner

123Runner

    Member 4k

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,307 posts
I'll go back and do some looking on some things.

Simplee55...are you looking for memory AND another hard drive for yourself?

As for Chris's computer, wasn't there an error about the hard drive failing and to backup now?

EDIT to add computer info.

Simplee55's computer
Motherboard:
CPU Type Intel Celeron D 320, 2400 MHz (18 x 133)
Motherboard Name Dell Dimension 3000
Motherboard Chipset Intel Morgan Hill i865GV
System Memory 512 MB (PC3200 DDR SDRAM)

EDIT: added info on Chris's drive. From his topic post 59

After I boot up the system, after the COMPAQ log than the next screen is the Black Screen of Death. Here is what is says at the very bottom:

Maxtor: 6E040L0: Hard disk failure is imminent. Please back up your hard drive and have it replaced.

From that point, I can either hit F1 or F2, I hit F2 to get the system to finish loading.

Is there anything that can be done to stop this Black screen from stopping in that place ???


Edited by 123Runner, 05 December 2009 - 06:33 AM.

  • 0

#419
simplee55

simplee55

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 539 posts
I'll go back and do some looking on some things. Runner, are you speaking to me ???

Simplee55...are you looking for memory AND another hard drive for yourself? Yes I am on both accounts. What would you suggest I do first, the Memory or Hard Drive.

As for Chris's computer, wasn't there an error about the hard drive failing and to backup now? Yes it was. I see you found what I said about Chris' pending Hard Drive failure.

Edited by simplee55, 05 December 2009 - 07:01 AM.

  • 0

#420
rshaffer61

rshaffer61

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • 34,114 posts
Do memory first as you have hard drive space.
I'm sorry as again it was another long day again.
The best thing for Christopher's system is to replace the drive completely. He can do this by just purchasing another drive and cloning his existing drive to the new one. This would result in a exact duplicate of his evisting hard drive and hopefully no data loss.
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP