Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Black screen with blinking cursor


  • Please log in to reply

#31
emeraldnzl

emeraldnzl

    GeekU Instructor

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 20,008 posts
:thumbsup:
  • 0

Advertisements


#32
Robertcharles123

Robertcharles123

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 101 posts
As far as the running from USB. I do not think I am doing the correct processes from the first page of posts.

1. I plug the USB into the sick computer
2. Turn it on
3. Then........ Other than letting it do its thing I cannot get to any other screen like I did when I ran Farber before I tried this new process.

Thanks,

Robert

Edited by Robertcharles123, 09 February 2014 - 08:27 PM.

  • 0

#33
Robertcharles123

Robertcharles123

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 101 posts
Do I use the Windows recovery disc I used when I tried to do Farber before?

Thanks,

Robert

Edited by Robertcharles123, 09 February 2014 - 08:24 PM.

  • 0

#34
emeraldnzl

emeraldnzl

    GeekU Instructor

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 20,008 posts

Do I use the Windows recovery disc I used when I tried to do Farber before?


No you don't use the Recovery Disk.

That is not working properly.

I don't think we got the iso copy of OTLPE - see my post #26

Try that download.

If that doesn't work we will try another approach.
  • 0

#35
Robertcharles123

Robertcharles123

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 101 posts
The link on the post leads to a "dead" end. It says error.

Thanks,
Robert

Edited by Robertcharles123, 09 February 2014 - 08:38 PM.

  • 0

#36
emeraldnzl

emeraldnzl

    GeekU Instructor

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 20,008 posts
Oh dear you are correct that link is no-longer is available. I am sorry to muck you about like that.

I think we should try a different, simpler approach.

This is a way to access your computer using a disk we will create.

Before starting you might like to print these instruction out so that you know what you are doing

  • Download OTLPE.iso and save it somewhere you can get it.
  • Insert a writable blank CD/DVD in your CD drive and click on the OTPLE.iso to burn a CD. NOTE:
  • Reboot your infected system using the boot CD you just created.
Note : If you do not know how to set your computer to boot from CD follow the steps here
  • The CD needs to detect your hardware and load the operating system...can take a bit of time, just be patient :)
  • Your system should now display a Reatogo desktop.
    Note : as you are running from CD it is not exactly speedy
  • Double-click on the OTLPE icon.
  • Select the Windows folder of the infected drive if it asks for a location
  • If asked "Do you wish to load the remote registry", select Yes
  • If asked "Do you wish to load remote user profile(s) for scanning", select Yes
  • Ensure the box "Automatically Load All Remaining Users" is checked and press OK
  • OTL should now start.
  • Press Run Scan to start the scan.
  • When finished, the file will be saved in drive C:\OTL.txt
  • Copy this file to your USB drive if you do not have internet connection on this system.
  • Right click the file and select send to : select the USB drive.
  • Confirm that it has copied to the USB drive by selecting it
  • You can backup any files that you wish from this OS
  • Please post the contents of the C:\OTL.txt file in your reply.

  • 0

#37
Robertcharles123

Robertcharles123

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 101 posts
I am burning the file to a cd. It is saying formatting. It is taking a while. Well, I have tried 4 different types of cd's and now one of them is trying to copy. I hope this one works.

Thanks,

Robert
  • 0

#38
emeraldnzl

emeraldnzl

    GeekU Instructor

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 20,008 posts

I hope this one works.


Me too. It's been a frustrating time for you so far. :)
  • 0

#39
Robertcharles123

Robertcharles123

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 101 posts
My computer just loaded as Windows XP and came to this page

Thanks,

Robert

Attached Thumbnails

  • 1392003668052.jpg

Edited by Robertcharles123, 09 February 2014 - 09:42 PM.

  • 0

#40
emeraldnzl

emeraldnzl

    GeekU Instructor

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 20,008 posts
Looks like it didn't boot from the CD.

See this part of the instructions. Go to the link. :)

Note : If you do not know how to set your computer to boot from CD follow the steps here
  • 0

Advertisements


#41
Robertcharles123

Robertcharles123

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 101 posts
I am on th sick computer.

I loaded the c and it showed windows XP then went to a screen that show this. Then it will not go further.

Thanks,

Robert

Attached Thumbnails

  • 1392004220894.jpg

Edited by Robertcharles123, 09 February 2014 - 09:52 PM.

  • 0

#42
Robertcharles123

Robertcharles123

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 101 posts
It had to boot from the c because it loaded the Reatogo then windows XP popped up a d then this - I did it twice.

Thanks,

Robert
  • 0

#43
Robertcharles123

Robertcharles123

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 101 posts
The auto correct keeps changing CD to c.

Thanks,

Robert
  • 0

#44
emeraldnzl

emeraldnzl

    GeekU Instructor

  • GeekU Moderator
  • 20,008 posts

It had to boot from the c because it loaded the Reatogo then windows XP popped up a d then this - I did it twice.


The auto correct keeps changing CD to c.


Maybe I have it wrong but I mean the boot sequence, not which drive. See the link at the red here in my last post.
  • 0

#45
Robertcharles123

Robertcharles123

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 101 posts
I do not have a clue as to how to change anything on this computer at the moment. I read the post about 10 times, but I cannot seem to get to the pages with the delete button and all. I restarted the computer about a dozen times and it just keeps loading re to go and the n to that page. I guess I need step by step instructions to get to the pages where I can tell it what to do. The BIOS is where I need to be? I do not know how to get there. I am just jumbled at the.moment. and I am typing on a phone this whole time. I never used a phone keyboard before, so doing this is that much more complicated at the moment.

Thanks,

Robert
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP