Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Trouble duplicating video for monitor and TV using VGA.

display vga clone image

Best Answer dsenette , 02 October 2015 - 08:10 AM

being analog, VGA is very picky about distances. that said, i've got a few 50 foot VGA cables in use here at work and they work fine (one of them is also through a splitter, but it's an active spli... Go to the full post »

• Please log in to reply

czanzibar

czanzibar

• Pip
  • 1 posts

Hello!

I tried to look for a similar answered question, and I'm not very tech savvy so I'll try to explain as clear as possible:

I want to connect the video output of my PC to both a monitor and a TV using VGA cables (clone the image). Currently my monitor is plugged through a 1m VGA cable using the VGA output of the PC and works fine.

I bought online a cheap Y splitter cable (M->2F) and a cheap 10m long VGA cable (M/M) to duplicate the image but they didn't work, so I tried only the 10m cable from my PC to the monitor only (without the splitter) to see if the long cable was faulty but there was no video image. I also tried plugging the regular 1m VGA cable (that I always use with my monitor) to the splitter and then to my PC, leaving one of the two female outputs of the splitter empty, but no video image either.