Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Windows 10 stops during start up? (Resolved).

- - - - -

Best Answer rmp0012002 , 20 May 2016 - 03:04 PM

Something of possible interest for you here   FWIW: most problems that I have seen with upgrading to Windows 10 have been on OEM brand notebooks so yours is not an isolated case. Thanks for th... Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply

#1
rmp0012002

rmp0012002

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
After an update/upgrade to my AMD I now have the issue of when I start my HP all in one the HP logo comes up with the turning dots but shortly after the the dots will freeze. The page will go off once and come back on and stay at that frozen screen. I've seen other people with the frozen screen on start up ask for help but the assistance given tells how to change settings but once I'm on that page there is zero access to anything. Safe boot is totally complicated in Windows 10 and doesn't help or work the way previous editions did. Windows 10 disk will help? Any assistance would be appreciated.
  • 0

Advertisements


#2
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,784 posts

Hello rmp0012002,

 

Have you tried restarting the computer a couple of times to see if the Windows recovery environment comes up, it should do so after the computer has failed to boot into Windows more than twice.


  • 0

#3
rmp0012002

rmp0012002

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts

Hello rmp0012002,
 
Have you tried restarting the computer a couple of times to see if the Windows recovery environment comes up, it should do so after the computer has failed to boot into Windows more than twice.


Morning, thanks for responding.
Quite a few times but every time it just got to the start page with the HP logo and the turning dots and then freeze. I read the recovery page is suppose to appear but never did. Googling info I used F11 to get in. I did a troubleshot but was told there was a problem and any issues weren't repaired. So using the recovery page I backed up everything onto an external drive and started over. Monday I will try to use their program on the back up to restore it. It is now back running as the initial Windows 8 but backed up with an upgrade to 10 so I don't know if there will be a conflict. Looking at the back up folders you can't tell which file was saved where but I'll give it a shot.

Edited by rmp0012002, 14 May 2016 - 06:55 AM.

  • 0

#4
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,784 posts

Hello rmp0012002,

 

Glad to hear that you have been able to back up your data and get the computer going again  :thumbsup:

 

Hopefully the fresh upgrade will work out better for you, please keep us updated on your progress and any questions let us know.

 

You are welcome btw  :)


  • 0

#5
rmp0012002

rmp0012002

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts

Hello rmp0012002,
 
Glad to hear that you have been able to back up your data and get the computer going again  :thumbsup:
 
Hopefully the fresh upgrade will work out better for you, please keep us updated on your progress and any questions let us know.
 
You are welcome btw  :)


I'll see Monday. It's a work computer so hope it loads. The exe file is located in the back up folder as it says it should be so I'm good up to this point.
  • 0

#6
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,784 posts

:thumbsup:


  • 0

#7
rmp0012002

rmp0012002

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
I do have a question you may be able to help me with. When I backed up the computer it saved it as two folders, is this correct? They both have the recovery exe program and each has 29 files. Looking at the time the back up took the second folder continues where the first folder ended. I will see when I start the recovery program what happens.
  • 0

#8
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,784 posts

Not sure what has gone on there and would appreciate you filling us in how using the recovery program works out  :thumbsup:


  • 0

#9
rmp0012002

rmp0012002

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts

Not sure what has gone on there and would appreciate you filling us in how using the recovery program works out  :thumbsup:


Definitely didn't work as I expected. Running the HP recovery manager is not a system restore but just puts everything in another folder which you have to go through every sub folder and manually add it back. The initial back up created two folders but I had to run each separately with the recovery manager. I found the one folder I really needed in the second back up folder and added that back to my desktop. I'll keep an updated back up of that folder. Too much to go through and so much that you have no idea what it is.
  • 0

#10
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,784 posts

Sounds complicated and tbh not encountered such a palaver before  :headscratch:

 

Is everything going ok with the computer now.


  • 0

#11
rmp0012002

rmp0012002

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts

Sounds complicated and tbh not encountered such a palaver before  :headscratch:
 
Is everything going ok with the computer now.


Seems to be running fine but I thought the process would be simpler. Since I don't know what caused Windows to freeze during start up I'm hesitant to upgrade it to Windows 10 again.
  • 0

#12
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,784 posts

Something of possible interest for you here

 

FWIW: most problems that I have seen with upgrading to Windows 10 have been on OEM brand notebooks so yours is not an isolated case.


  • 0

#13
rmp0012002

rmp0012002

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
✓  Best Answer

Something of possible interest for you here
 
FWIW: most problems that I have seen with upgrading to Windows 10 have been on OEM brand notebooks so yours is not an isolated case.


Thanks for the links. I have an HP18 all in one and really didn't have any plans to update to 10 at the time but I did get pop ups for 10 that it was ready to upgrade and it essentially loaded on its own. I don't know if one of the pop ups would load it if not canceled but I came back to my office later that morning and it was upgrading. Some weird mojo.
  • 0

#14
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,784 posts

You are welcome  :)

 

Microsoft has forcibly upgraded some computers to Windows 10


  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP