Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

W10 Increase Disk Partition Size

- - - - -

Best Answer gpl98a1 , 03 June 2020 - 05:35 AM

Thank you, I just got this sorted this morning, I downloaded some freeware that done the trick. My laptop is updating as it hasnt been switched on since August & then Ill uninstall the programm... Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply

#1
gpl98a1

gpl98a1

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts

Running my laptop as my main PC is down & i already have a C & D partition, I have cleaned C up as best i can but i only have 30GB left out of approx 75GB, on D there is approx 130GB free out of 200GB & i would like to move 30 over to back my phone up.

 

I have looked at tutorials but when i get to formating the new partition i get an error message 'partition_basic_data_guid' - is there any way i can get around this please?

Attached Thumbnails

  • partition error.jpg

Edited by gpl98a1, 02 June 2020 - 10:48 AM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#2
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,797 posts

Can you take and upload a screenshot of just the Disk Manager so we have a clear view of it.


  • 0

#3
gpl98a1

gpl98a1

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts

Hello again Phil, thank you for responding

Attached Thumbnails

  • SS1.png

Edited by gpl98a1, 02 June 2020 - 11:55 AM.

  • 0

#4
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,797 posts

Hello gpl98a1,

 

Sorry to be a pain but I should have asked for an expanded screenshot, can you open Disk Manager to full screen then grab the screenshot for us, we are missing info that we need to see in the above windowed screenshot .


  • 0

#5
gpl98a1

gpl98a1

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts

Apologies, my bad!

 

Steve :geek:

Attached Thumbnails

  • SS2.jpg

  • 0

#6
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,797 posts

No worries but I have a question, how come your latest screenshots do not show the same partitions as in your OP which shows a 47.81GB partition of unallocated space.


  • 0

#7
gpl98a1

gpl98a1

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts

Yes i just expanded D drive again as the unallocated part would not format & was just sitting there being a little useless, it was partitioned so i could screenshot the message i was getting


Edited by gpl98a1, 02 June 2020 - 12:30 PM.

  • 0

#8
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,797 posts

Makes sense now but was scratching my head before  :yes:

 

When you had the unallocated space, before you tried to format it did you first of all right click on it to create a New Simple Volume, you need to do this so that you can allocate it a drive letter before it can be formatted.


  • 0

#9
gpl98a1

gpl98a1

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts

Yes, that is the process i followed & names the new drive 'F' but it would not let me complete & format the new partition

 

After the following screenshots i got the message i posted in #1

 

All i could find was THIS but im not sure how to solve it, it may as well be written in chinese  :smashcomp: 

Attached Thumbnails

  • ss3 - Copy.jpg
  • ss5 - Copy.jpg
  • ss6 - Copy.jpg

Edited by gpl98a1, 02 June 2020 - 01:10 PM.

  • 0

#10
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,797 posts

Strange, try using diskpart the guide for which you will find here


  • 0

#11
gpl98a1

gpl98a1

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts

Okay, thank you, strange would be what i'd get alright - for fear of doing something incorrect as there seems to be alot of commands am i using this to Delete partition, repair, create a new partition, convert to MBR - or something else?

 

Sorry, probably a silly question but i dont want to end up doing something wrong like wiping data etc


Edited by gpl98a1, 02 June 2020 - 01:43 PM.

  • 0

#12
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,797 posts

For fear of a mishap please forego using Diskpart.

 

Golden rule is that before changing partitions you should always back up the drive first as things can go wrong even for the most experienced of folk, it may be best to put this on hold until you have done such a back up first.

 

Not suggesting that you use AOMEI but take a look at the info here regarding primary partitions etc


  • 0

#13
gpl98a1

gpl98a1

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
✓  Best Answer
Thank you, I just got this sorted this morning, I downloaded some freeware that done the trick. My laptop is updating as it hasnt been switched on since August & then Ill uninstall the programme, hopefully it hasnt left any crap behind so Ill do a malware scan & maybe windows defender too.

Thank you again for your help & direction

*edit* just seen your comment, AOMEI is exactly what I used, so simple to do - I usually dont like using freeware though

Edited by gpl98a1, 03 June 2020 - 05:38 AM.

  • 0

#14
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Moderator
  • 23,797 posts

Glad you got it sorted and thank you for letting us know  :thumbsup:

 

You are welcome  :)


  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP