Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Fixing a friends computer BSOD 0x00000101


  • Please log in to reply

#61
rei158

rei158

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 136 posts

Well, I attached the external GPU for this part as it was too hard and frustrating do deal with the lagginess of this application.
Made some screenshots of the monitors it had.

Attached Thumbnails

  • fan speed and clock.png
  • temperature.png
  • Untitled.png

  • 0

Advertisements


#62
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Global Moderator
  • 24,867 posts

Everything looks ok in the screenshots.

 

Final things that I can suggest before you need to visit a tech.

 

Try an alternative PSU.

Upgrade the BIOS to one of the two latest ones available from here

Remove the CPU, clean off the old thermal paste and reapply a good quality compound such as Arctic Silver 5  or similar.


  • 0

#63
rei158

rei158

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 136 posts

Will try another PSU in the end of week, but I had a new BSOD, 0x0000009C, machine check exception, it failed to dump.

Will now try to install new BIOS, but it did not work as well.

 

I've researched the bsod on the net and it indicates a hardware failure. So in this case it is probably the CPU?

 

Checklist :

 

1) Try another PSU - in the end of the week

2) New BIOS - no results

3) Apply new paste - in the end of the week and if possible, could I get a tutorial link for that, I've never done that before.


Edited by rei158, 07 December 2015 - 06:58 AM.

  • 0

#64
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Global Moderator
  • 24,867 posts
I had a new BSOD, 0x0000009C, machine check exception, it failed to dump.

 

 

This may have been caused by the MSI monitoring software so uninstall it and see if you get the 0x0000009C, machine check exception error again.

 

BIOS update and PSU information acknowledged.

 

For the removal and fresh application of thermal compound see the tutorial here (Horizontal Line)

 

If you are going to be around before the weekend let us know as I have something that I would like you to try before you start swapping hardware around.


  • 0

#65
rei158

rei158

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 136 posts

I will be available all times mostly, just that I have a spare PSU at another place.


  • 0

#66
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Global Moderator
  • 24,867 posts

Have you uninstalled the MSI software.

 

My other suggestion, if you have a spare USB thumb drive, download Puppy Linux to the thumb drive, restart the computer to access the BIOS, change the boot sequence so that the computer boots from a USB device, allow the computer to boot into Puppy on the thumb drive and test the computer to see how it behaves, if the same, power down the computer and disconnect from the wall socket, disconnect the power from the HDD, reassemble and boot into Puppy and again test, post back with an update for us, Puppy Linux from here


  • 0

#67
rei158

rei158

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 136 posts

Yes, I have uninstalled MSI now.

 

I am unable to boot from the USB. I installed Lucid Puppy on it and the computer fails to boot from it, meaning that I press the F11 key to select the usb from boot options but after that it takes a couple of seconds and continues on with windows boot.

 

I tried disconnecting power from the PC and the HDD, but no results

 

EDIT: It worked on my laptop, so no errors on installing the linux.


Edited by rei158, 08 December 2015 - 02:02 PM.

  • 0

#68
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Global Moderator
  • 24,867 posts
I tried disconnecting power from the PC and the HDD, but no results

 

 

Did you leave the thumb drive in the USB port before changing the boot sequence to USB device in the BIOS and did you save the settings before exiting.

 

Is the boot order still USB device first.

 

Instead of pressing F11 have you tried tapping the Delete key to get into the BIOS.


  • 0

#69
rei158

rei158

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 136 posts

There was no option in the BIOS to make an USB be the first thing to boot.

Atleast I was unable to find that,

 

EDIT:
 

Nevermind, the USB had to be plugged in for the option to appear.

 

Will soon post results.

 

EDIT2:

 

I had to change usb ports for it to boot from USB. 

 

But while booting now the Puppy linux, it runs into Fatal machine check, saying Processor context corrupt,


Edited by rei158, 08 December 2015 - 02:57 PM.

  • 0

#70
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Global Moderator
  • 24,867 posts

Was this with the HDD disconnected.

 

A copy/paste explanation of the Fatal machine check, saying Processor context corrupt;

 

Possible causes
Normal causes for MCE errors include overheating and/or incorrect hardware installation. Specific manually-induced causes include:
 
Overclocking (which normally increases heat-output)
Poorly-fitted heatsink/computer fans (the same problem can happen with excessive dust in the CPU fan)
An overloaded internal or external power-supply (fixable by upgrading)
 

 

 


  • 0

Advertisements


#71
rei158

rei158

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 136 posts

The HDD was connected during that time.

 

 

EDIT2:

 

Tried it now when the HDD was disconnected, same result.


Edited by rei158, 09 December 2015 - 02:27 PM.

  • 0

#72
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Global Moderator
  • 24,867 posts

Not looking good for the CPU atm  :(  

 

Renewing the thermal paste and trying another PSU is all that is left to try I'm afraid.


  • 0

#73
rei158

rei158

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 136 posts

It seems that I don't actually have a spare CPU, thought I had one.

 

Changed the thermal paste on the CPU, cleaned the old one before applying it, also from from the heatsink.

Freezing still occurs.

 

Is the test with another CPU a must or should I procceed to buying a new CPU?


Edited by rei158, 13 December 2015 - 04:12 PM.

  • 0

#74
phillpower2

phillpower2

    Mechanised Mod

  • Global Moderator
  • 24,867 posts
Is the test with another CPU a must or should I procceed to buying a new CPU?

 

 

Must be crossed wires somewhere as trying another CPU was not suggested, trying another PSU (power supply unit) was.

 

Until another PSU has been tried you have 3 items of hardware that could be the culprit, if you swap in a known good power supply and the issue is the same it leaves either the CPU itself, the MB or both as the cause, MBs are more prone to failure than CPUs and unfortunately to determine if it is one or the other or worse case scenario both you will need to take the MB and CPU to a tech for testing, it cannot be done at home without specialist equipment.

 

Also keep in mind that if it is the MB that is bad and you insert a replacement CPU in the socket you will end up with two bad CPUs.


  • 0

#75
rei158

rei158

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 136 posts

Yeah, that was a typo by me. Well, I will just borrow a PSU from my own computer soon, but if that fails aswell, then I probably will just ask my friend to go there herself.


  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP