Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Malware info from NotePad. I need help. [Solved]


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked

#121
itsmesunny

itsmesunny

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 300 posts

I know about the holes to plug audio stuff in - the colors etc. BUT

 

On this Dell there are more of them on the bottom than even in the manual. And I could swear it was one of those. And it was black.

 

file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/User/My%20Documents/Downloads/dimension%20manual.pdf   

 

It's plugged into green - just static. There are 3 controls on the keyboard too - volume up, vol;ime down and an X over the speakers.

 

 

The window is STILL grey. That's gotta mean something.

 

So I guess I could leave the video playing and just keep plugging and unplugging.

 

There is a whole row on the bottom that is not on the manual pic on the link above.


Edited by itsmesunny, 01 July 2014 - 03:20 PM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#122
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts

Does the back look like this

 


  • 0

#123
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts

This is the link for your audio drivers

 

http://www.dell.com/...on-3000/drivers


  • 0

#124
itsmesunny

itsmesunny

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 300 posts

no.

 

it looks just like the one in the manual EXCEPT underneath the bottom 5 rows look different.


  • 0

#125
itsmesunny

itsmesunny

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 300 posts

no it's not.

 

Dell™ Dimension™ 8300 Series is what this is.
 
 
 

 

This is the link for your audio drivers

 

http://www.dell.com/...on-3000/drivers


Edited by itsmesunny, 01 July 2014 - 03:41 PM.

  • 0

#126
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts

So this section here is different ?  That may mean you have a sound card installed

 

Is there a green plug there ?

 

 

Looking for the proper driver now...  I think it is the Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy I will check as it did show on one of the logs


  • 0

#127
itsmesunny

itsmesunny

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 300 posts

only the first row.

the second is blank.

the third has two square like places to plug something in.

the fourth is blank.

the fifth is a kind of square black hole - then a yellow, black, light green, pink, green and red speaker like plugins.

 

I kept a video on and just kept plugging them in one by one and just static.

BUT one was really touchy. The pink one. In the manual pic it's the microphone plug. Loud staTic on that one.

 

 

SEE MY MOST RECENT POST BELOW! :yeah:


Edited by itsmesunny, 02 July 2014 - 07:07 AM.

  • 0

#128
itsmesunny

itsmesunny

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 300 posts

Creative Audio Audigy Processor - In the Volume - on Audio etc. Properties I keep mentioning.

 

It reads that Driver is Enabled and functioning properly.

 

I think you ought to the remote thing again and look at what I'm referring to.

 

Cuz I cannot figure out how to use Paint.

 

OR

 

should I just run the diagnostics on the Dell link above? There is one specifically for "NO SOUND" - ?

 

SEE MY MOST RECENT POST BELOW! :yeah:

 

 

 

So this section here is different ?  That may mean you have a sound card installed

 

Is there a green plug there ?

 

attachicon.gifCapture.JPG

 

Looking for the proper driver now...  I think it is the Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy I will check as it did show on one of the logs


Edited by itsmesunny, 02 July 2014 - 07:07 AM.

  • 0

#129
itsmesunny

itsmesunny

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 300 posts

I have been searching too. And I know that this IS the problem. :spoton:

 

This is the window - shown on the link below - that I am talking about - except mine reads SB Audigy Sudio [CF00] - where is says No Audio Device  - on the pic in the link.

http://www.pchell.com/support/no_active_mixer_devices_available.shtml - (for illustrations purposes, so you can see what I see.)

 

You see what I mean - the VOLUME is grey - I cannot do anything AND there is a "?" next to the "X" to close the window. If I click on Volume on any of the tabs I get this message:

"Windows cannot execute SndVol32.exe, use Add/Remove control panels to install."

 

It's not there. I am almost positive that is what we need to install using Add and Remove Progams in the Control Panel list of stuff.

 

I found out why it's not there - It was a HIDDEN folder. I followed the guys instructions - went to Folder Options - and it WAS hidden. I checked "Show Hidden files and folders" and the the "Play Control" now works. When I went there before I could not move the Volume sliders things up and down. Now I can.

 

So, it looks like the file needs to be extracted and installed.

 

http://forums.techgu...xe-missing.html


Edited by itsmesunny, 02 July 2014 - 07:03 AM.

  • 0

#130
itsmesunny

itsmesunny

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 300 posts

Hey English!  :thumbsup:

 

You are going above and beyond. It's gotta be late where you are. So maybe it's time for a   :cheers: It is here.  :lol: 

I am so burned out on this now and It's dinnertime and I need a shower.

 

I will check back in a while.


Edited by itsmesunny, 02 July 2014 - 07:04 AM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#131
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts

OK lets give you the missing file courtesy of my XP virtual machine :)

 

Download sndvol32.exe from the link below and copy the file to c:\windows\system32

 

https://www.dropbox....6p/sndvol32.exe

 

Then reboot the computer and ensure that Windows Audio Service is running

 

Also there is confusion about which sound card you have as both SB and creative are being referenced

Which will need to be sorted

 

the fifth is a kind of square black hole - then a yellow, black, light green, pink, green and red speaker like plugins.

 

Plug the speaker into the green socket after the reboot and see if that helps


  • 0

#132
itsmesunny

itsmesunny

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 300 posts

I already have the sndvol32 folder on the Desktop.

 

What you put up is the play control. I already have that. And I don't remember how I found it or where it came from. :confused:

 

The sndvol32 is a zipped folder. It needs to be extracted from the extraction wizard window that pops up.

 

So if I do that I am moving it to the location where it's supposed to be which is:

c:\windows\system32 - ???

 

What is Windows Audio Service?

 

I don't know how to copy the file to c:\windows\system32 - ?

 

Do you just want to do the remote thing?


Edited by itsmesunny, 02 July 2014 - 07:42 AM.

  • 0

#133
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts

I used the link you posted as that explains about windows audio service http://www.pchell.co...available.shtml  it is about halfway down the page

 

The file I linked to is sndvol32.exe not in a zipped format, just the bare file.  Copy or move that file to the windows\system32 folder  then reboot


  • 0

#134
itsmesunny

itsmesunny

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 300 posts

I don't know how to copy or move it!

 

Could you please do the remote thing and do it?

 

Please.

 

The other link is better info about this. That's where I found out that it was a hidden folder.


Edited by itsmesunny, 02 July 2014 - 07:47 AM.

  • 0

#135
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Okey dokey.. You have the file I asked you to download on the desktop now ?

Could you give me the code please
  • 0






Similar Topics

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP