Jump to content

Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

HELP, Saveron has icons/files on desktop [Solved]

Windows 7 Saveron Acer laptop

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked

#16
dumbBlond28

dumbBlond28

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

Additional scan result
==================== End Of Log ============================


Edited by dumbBlond28, 08 February 2015 - 08:47 PM.

  • 0

Advertisements


#17
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Could you post the AdwCleaner log and the FRST fixlog please

Also is there any change in the system behaviour
  • 0

#18
dumbBlond28

dumbBlond28

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

 AdwCleaner v4.110


Edited by dumbBlond28, 08 February 2015 - 08:47 PM.

  • 0

#19
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
OK time for a bigger hammer, this will show me if there is anything squirreled away

Download and Install Combofix

Download ComboFix from one of the following locations:
Link 1
Link 2

VERY IMPORTANT !!! Save ComboFix.exe to your Desktop

* IMPORTANT - Disable your AntiVirus and AntiSpyware applications, usually via a right click on the System Tray icon. They may otherwise interfere with our tools. If you have difficulty properly disabling your protective programs, refer to this link here NSIS_extraction.png
  • When finished, it shall produce a log for you.
  • Please include the C:\ComboFix.txt in your next reply.
  • Notes:
    1. Do not mouse-click Combofix's window while it is running. That may cause it to stall.
    2. Do not "re-run" Combofix. If you have a problem, reply back for further instructions.

    3. If after the reboot you get errors about programmes being marked for deletion then reboot, that will cure it.


    Please make sure you include the combo fix log in your next reply as well as describe how your computer is running now

  • 0

#20
dumbBlond28

dumbBlond28

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

:\windows\security\Database\tmp.


Edited by dumbBlond28, 08 February 2015 - 08:48 PM.

  • 0

#21
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts

Good :) I am missing the top part of the combofix log, could you post that please 

 

Are you able to manually delete the icons on the desktop ?


  • 0

#22
dumbBlond28

dumbBlond28

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

ohhhh sorry im nervous


Edited by dumbBlond28, 08 February 2015 - 08:48 PM.

  • 0

#23
dumbBlond28

dumbBlond28

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

jBeaVV6.jpg


  • 0

#24
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
Bear with me a bit I am trying to find a way of doing this without diving into the registry
  • 0

#25
dumbBlond28

dumbBlond28

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

:) omg thats so scary everything. but im here waiting i really need help and thank you


  • 0

Advertisements


#26
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
OK let me know if you have any problems at all with these instructions...

First :

Write down the text in the following code box, as we will be ending explorer and you will lose your desktop, or print the post :)
 
cd /d %userprofile%\AppData\Local 
del IconCache.db 
exit
OK ready :)

1. Close all folder windows that are currently open.
2. Launch Task Manager using the CTRL+SHIFT+ESC key sequence, or by running taskmgr.exe.
3. In the Process tab, right-click on the Explorer.exe process and select End Process.
4. Click the End process button when asked for confirmation.
5. From the File menu of Task Manager, select New Task (Run)
6. Type CMD.EXE, and click OK
7. In the Command Prompt window, type the commands one by one and press ENTER after each command:

CD /d %userprofile%\AppData\Local

DEL IconCache.db /a

EXIT


8. In Task Manager, click File, select New Task (Run)
9. Type EXPLORER.EXE, and click OK.

Let me know if they are now gone
  • 0

#27
dumbBlond28

dumbBlond28

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

ok i ll try that now im hopefully back soon ahhhhhhhh


  • 0

#28
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
I'll be waiting :)
  • 0

#29
dumbBlond28

dumbBlond28

    Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts

OK wasnt that hard to do lol ... but no they r still there :(


  • 0

#30
Essexboy

Essexboy

    GeekU Moderator

  • Retired Staff
  • 69,964 posts
OK back to the drawing board
  • 0






Similar Topics


Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Windows 7, Saveron, Acer laptop

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

As Featured On:

Microsoft Yahoo BBC MSN PC Magazine Washington Post HP